top of page

Super Middleweight Division   Weight: 160-168


The Super Middleweight Division came into being to stay in 1984, but the journey before that began as early as the 1060's. The World Athletic Association, whose authority was ignored by virtually everyone, including the vital newspapers, as well as most state boxing commissions.


Three original champions of the WAA, Gene Fullmer, Buster Douglas, and Wimpy Halstead, won titles in the middleweights, heavyweights, and the 167 pound junior lightheavy weights, respectively. Unfortunately, for the three "title houlders", newspapers didn't bother covering the WAA bouts, nor did the vast majority of state commissions. 

In 1984, however, the International Boxing Federation instituted yet another version of the Super Middleweights and anointed Murray Southerland as it's top dog after Sutherland defeated Ernie Singletary in the inaugural SMW bout. 


The World Boxing Association followed, in 1987 by crowning Chong Pal Park as the lineal champion as well as their Super Middleweight Division main man. Park became champion after defeating Jesus Gallardo. Ironically, Park had been the  IBF title holder, but abdicated the position in order to join what he viewed as a more prestigious organization.


 Last but not least, the World Boxing Council matched Sugar Ray Leonard against Donny LaLonde, a fight that Leonard won to become the WBC super middleweight king. 

From that point on, the division won over even the most vociferous opponents due to so many outstanding boxers competing in it. Rivalries like Nigel Benn versus Chris Eubank, Joe Calzghe versus Mikkel Kessler, and Andre Ward versus Carl Froch thrilled boxing fans and cemented the division's standing among the boxing community.

Carded Super Middleweights 


Arthur Abraham

Saul Alvarez

Librado Andrade

In Chul Baek

Nigel Benn

Markus Beyer

Charles Brewer

Lucian Bute

Joe Calzaghe

Steve Collins

James DeGale

Andre Dirrell

Antwun Echols

Chris Eubank

Carl Froch

Bruno Girard

George Groves

Thomas Hearns

Lindell Holmes

Badou Jack

Roy Jones Jr

Mikkel Kessler

Jeff Lacy

Mads Larsen

Ray Leonard

Frankie Liles

Steve Little

Tim Littles

Eric Lucas

Thulani Malinga

Byron Mitchell

Michael Nunn

Sven Ottke

Chong Pal Park

Vinny Pazienza

Peter Quillin

Robin Reid

Graciano Rocchigiani

Dana Rosenblatt

Omar Sheika

Callum Smith

Merqui Sosa

Robert Stieglitz

Thomas Tate

Tony Thornton

Christophe Tiozzo

James Toney

Syd Vanderpool

Mario Veit

Andre Ward

Richie Woodhall



Daniel Jacobs

Billy Joe Saunders

Peter Quillin

Felix Sturm

Kassim Ouma

Silvio Branco

Daniel Geale

David Lemieux

Anthony Dirrell

Willie Monroe Jr

Brian Magee

Glenn Catley

Jean Paul Mendy

Rocky Fielding

Dean Francis

James Cook

Victor Cordoba

Henry Wharton

Frank Nicotra

Danilo Haussler

Rodney Toney

Frederic Seillier

Joseph Kiwanuka

David Starie

Erik Skoglund

Sergey Tateyosyan

Saul Roman

Bryant Brannon

Antoine Byrd

Vincenzo Nardiello

Fernando Zuniga

Mauricio Amaral

Rudy Markussen

Mauro Galvano

Nordin Ben Salah

Anthony Hanshaw

Karbary Salem

Andre Thysse

Nader Hamdan

Ray Close

Randall Yonker

Andre Shkalikov

James Butler

Adama Osumanu

Paul Smith

Reginaldo Andrade

Willie Stewart

Scott Pemberton

Soon Botes

Rick Thornberry

Giovanni Lorenzo

Sam Storey

Jason Quigley

Manny Siaca

Dan Schommer

Bruno Ruben Godoyix

bottom of page